I have been following tennis for the past 16 odd years. I learn from players and learn from the sport. And have been following this GS race very closely with it’s ebb and flows. Of course me backing Rafa all the way and will continue to do so till he hangs up his boots. But to live in this era of tennis immortality, all tennis fans should consider themselves lucky. There will not be another like this. 60 majors (20 each) between the Federer, Nadal and Nole starting 2003. (Read that again). Novak won his 20th title - his 6th Wimbledon today. And put himself in the same category as his arch rivals, catching them for the first time.
Generations have changed but when it comes to big stages winners are pretty consistent. To just put this in context till 2011 (Roger was 16, Rafa was 10 and Nole at 3) and 10 years on it is (20-20-20).
Not sure how to describe this dominance of 3 players in parallel pushing each other, has any individual sport ever seen at this level? Michael Phelps did in Swimming but again no competitor -pure talent, Lance Armstrong in Cycling - but marred by drugs later so kind of legacy erased, Schumacher in his prime - but that too 6-7 years max, who else? (do comment if you remember any - individual sport)
There will not be another era of men’s tennis or dare i say any individual sport for as long as 20 odd years. I mean the aura of invincibility Big 3 that exists especially in Grand slams which is THE highest pinnacle of sport and just refusing to pass the baton is simply incredible. The mental fortress that they are able to create in such highest competitive levels (coming from set down, coming back from 2 sets down) is not about skill and talent (which is there ofcourse) but about refusing to think or believe that losing is an option. Or it cannot be won at any point in the match.
Tennis is a sport which finishes only after you win the last point, so momentum during the match makes a difference. Big points matter, you don’t win games when you create a break point chance you win when you win that created chance. Novak has mastered how to win big points, he has taken the phrase “stay in the present” to a whole new level. Just the ability to not think of what happens after is a supreme example of how to approach anything. Compartmentalisation is an asset in any field and just block the shit out to focus on the next task - the hardest thing to do. Novak is the epitome of this sheer genius.
Absolute credit to Novak, who has so long lived in Fedal’s shadows and has been able to create his own niche in a very distinct way. He may not have a big game, not a whole lot of huge serve like Federer, not a huge forehand like Nadal, but just pure accurate game enough to draw mistakes and mentally wear the opponent down. It is an incredible skill at work day in day out and just utter refusal to give up. Wolf mentality of the mountains he describes it as.
He may not be as loved as Fedal but that in no way diminishes his on court mammoth achievements. Yes, Olympic Gold eludes him but he will be gunning for it in couple of weeks’ time. And then Golden calendar slam too in NYC and make it 21 slams this autumn.
GOAT debate will continue till these 3 play on, but for all practical results wise objective metric it is the Novak’s era of tennis where he will end with most slams than others, and with the way he is going it might be a huge gap of 6-7 slams at the end of it all.
What we are witnessing is truly historic and i for one is privileged to be alive to see this era and have stories to tell the future generations.
